8 - 9 March 2016

Brussels, Belgium


Francisco Medeiros, EC DG CONNECT

Deputy Head of Unit,DG CONNECT, European Commission

Francisco Medeiros
Francisco Medeiros joined the European Commission, in 2000. He developed Radio Spectrum policy, mainly focused on 3G mobile communications. In 2003, he moved to the R&D side of the Commission services, initially in the area of Mobile and Satellite Communications. In 2007, he moved to the Networked Media Systems area. In January 2012, he was appointed as Deputy Head of Unit, Networked Media Systems.
When DG INFSO became DG CONNECT  in July 2012, he became Deputy Head of Unit, Software and Services, Cloud Computing. In this capacity, Francisco is now involved in the implementation of some of the actions described in the Commission Communication on Unleashing the Potential of Cloud Computing in Europe . He oversees Software & Services and Cloud Computing research and innovation projects funded by the EU in the context of the 7th Framework Programme  and under the scope of the recently launched Horizon 2020 Programme.
Francisco Medeiros has an Engineering Degree (Electronics), an MSc Degree (Telecommunications) and a PhD in Electrical Engineering (millimetre-wave systems and devices). He was awarded the “Barlow Prize” by University College London (UCL) for the most original contribution to research in the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University College London during the academic session 1982/1983.
He was a Fulbright Scholar in 1983 and an ITU Fellow in 1984 with the United States Telecommunications Training Institute (Washington DC, USA). 
In 1986, he joined the Radio Frequency Technology Division of ERA Technology Ltd, an independent research organisation based in Leatherhead (United Kingdom), where he worked on the design and development of high performance reflector antennas and microwave & millimetre-wave components and systems. 
He was recruited by NEC Europe (London, UK) in 1990 and was the General Manager of its Telecommunications Technologies Division in the period 1996-2000. 

Follow Francisco Medeiros on  @FrancMede